Waiting on Wednesday: My 2017 Reading Plans

Photo credit: Liz West

Traditionally, Waiting on Wednesday is a weekly event hosted by Breaking the Spine that features books readers are eagerly anticipating. Today, I’m offering my own spin on Waiting on Wednesday, and tell you what my 2017 reading plans are.

I’ve been using GoodReads to keep track of what I read for several years now. They have a yearly reading challenge that prompts users to set a reading goal for the coming year. In 2017, I want to read at least 75 books. I think that goal is doable since I’ve read 82 books in 2016.

read-harder-challenge

Speaking of reading challenges, BookRiot has an amazing one they’re running again this year. It’s called the 2017 Read Harder Challenge, and this is the 3rd annual challenge. I didn’t finish the previous Read Harder Challenges, but you know what? I’m OK with that. I still read things I probably otherwise wouldn’t have, so I consider that a win. They have 24 tasks ranging from “read a classic by an author of color” to “read a book published by a micropress.” The link above will take you to the entire list. They also provide ideas if you’re coming up empty. I’m really excited to start this challenge and see how far I get in 2017. I’m aiming to complete all 24 tasks.

modern-mrs-darcy-challenge

I stumbled upon another reading challenge recently that I’m excited about. It’s called the 2017 Modern Mrs. Darcy Reading Challenge and it has two paths: Reading for Fun and Reading for Growth. I love that it’s like Choose Your Own Adventure. Just want to do one path? OK! Are you an overachiever? Do both! Between the two paths, this challenge also has 24 tasks.

I don’t usually like to “double dip” when it comes to reading challenges. That is, if a book cover two or more tasks, it counts for each one. I like to have one book per task. That being said though, I think I’m OK with “double dipping” between reading challenges. I’m going to give myself permission to count a book for the Read Harder Challenge AND the Modern Mrs. Darcy Reading Challenge if it covers more than one task.

Bring on the reading in 2017! What are your reading plans for next year?

Leave a Reply

