Mojo Monday | Get Organized

I’ve been struggling a lot with mojo. I feel like mine has disappeared, and it’s been gone a while. I get excited about projects, supplies, and the prospect of creating, but I never quite follow through on what I want to get done. I’ve done some layouts, made a few cards during the past few months, and worked on my One Little Word monthly assignments, but nothing has motivated me to keep going. I think a big part of that is organization, or in my case, a lack thereof. I wonder if being better organized would help me get back my mojo.

Organization is something I’ve struggled with for a long time. I’m very lucky to have been able to take over our spare bedroom and make it my craft room. Overall, I think the room works for me. I mostly keep task-oriented stuff together. That is, the paints all together, the stamping supplies together, and all the embellishments together. But I keep wondering if I’m going about it the wrong way. I read (and bought) The Organized and Inspired Scrapbooker by Wendy Smedley and Aby Garvey a few years ago, and it’s one of the best books on crafty organization that I’ve ever read. It has so many great ideas on getting and staying organized. They have quizzes throughout the book to help you figure out your organizing style and the methods of organizing methods that might work best for you.

Today, I made a small change in my room. I had locker baskets inside a cabinet where they didn’t fit quite right, and I realized that they might work better in my Expedit (now known as Kallax) shelves from IKEA. I keep all my stamps in these baskets, and I’m planning on leaving it that way (for now, at least). I had embellishments on those shelves before, and I moved them to the cabinet where the baskets were. Here’s the updated look.

Locker Basket Organization

I think I’m going to have to do some reassessing of the embellishments. I’m not completely sure they work in the cabinet I moved them to. What I really want to do is empty the entire room, and start over. I’d like to go through each item and see what I really want to keep. Also, I think starting with a blank slate would be so helpful. But I don’t really see that happening any time soon. What I will have to do is re-read The Organized and Inspired Scrapbooker and see what ideas I can come up with.

In a future post, I’ll show you what my craft table looks like and hopefully come up with some solutions on how to keep it organized.

What are your methods of organizing? How do you keep your mojo going?

Leave a Reply

