Friday Five | 31 More Things

Friday Five

Last month, I did another Ali Edwards project (again with Ali Edwards!). She offers a class on her site called 31 More Things. You get 31 prompts, and you’re asked to connect words and photos. She originally offered it last year, and as I often do with crafty classes, I didn’t finish. But I’ve been thinking a lot about that class, and I decided from August 1-31, I was going to write 31 little stories and take 31 photos based on the prompts. Lucky for me, she offers forever access to classes purchased on her site.

 

For today’s Friday Five, here are 5 of the photos and stories I came up with. Eventually, all 31 of these stories will end up in a mini-album.

CameraCamera

My new camera is a Nikon D3300 DSLR. When I bought it in January, I had been researching DSLRs for a long time. I wanted to improve my photography skills, and also get a camera that had better capabilities. I couldn’t decide between Canon and Nikon, so
I asked around to see what people I know use. A friend’s sister is a photographer, and she uses Nikons. A coworker had recently gotten the Nikon D3300, and loved it. Consumer Reports gave the camera good reviews, so I decided it was the one. I haven’t used it much yet, but I’ve been playing a little. I bought an online photography class through Creative Live, but really feel like I need an in-person class or workshop. I think a hands-on class is something that would be most beneficial. We’ll see.

 

Drink29560623310_005570d32c_z

My drink of choice? Coffee. The place I like the best? Starbucks. The drink in the above photo is an iced coconut milk mocha macchiato. I hope Starbucks keeps that one around for a while. It’s delicious. Sometimes, I’m a bit of a coffee snob. I’m not a big fan of McDonalds or Dunkin Donuts. But if I’m having breakfast anywhere, any coffee from the restaurant will do. I used to be a Greenwell Farms coffee club member. After a while, it was too expensive to import coffee from Hawaii. Now my whole bean coffee of choice is Caffe Verona from Starbucks. I usually make it at home in the morning and bring more to work so I can have it in the late morning. 90 degrees outside? Who cares. Give me my coffee.

 

29560625200_442988ae48_zMakeup

I wear makeup on most days, but I don’t often wear all the makeup in this photo. Some days, I’ll go without makeup. On days I do wear make up, I keep it very smple and just wear foundation and a little blush. When I dress up, I wear a little more make up, but usually only add mascara, and eye shadow. I don’t want to spend a lot of time on make up.

 

 

 

Feet29818280636_6b3f5a9363_z

Yes, my feet are striped. I wear sandals every single day in May through August, and as often as I can in March, April, September, and October. The Teva sandals I wear most often have a strap around the ankle, and a strap above my toes. They leave an interesting pattern on my feet. People have even commented on the stripes this year. I wonder how long it will take for the tan to fade after I start wearing real shoes again. Not that I want to wear real shoes any time soon.

 

 

7:30 p.m.7:30 p.m.

It’s Thursday, which means I’m at work at 7:30 p.m. We don’t have any programs today, so I’m sitting at desk 2. I’ve been looking through a review journal choosing new books for the collection. Currently, I buy the fiction, science fiction, and 600s. I’m also pinning things to the library Pinterest boards. It’s been a pretty quiet night, and I’ve been able to get a lot done.

 

 

Happy Friday!

Leave a Reply

